Child Abuse 

In Florida, Child Abuse is defined as an intentional act that causes, or could reasonably be expected to cause, physical or mental injury to a child, that is to say, a person under 18 years of age.

Penalties for Child Abuse

In Florida, Child Abuse is classified as a Third Degree Felony and punishable by up to five (5) years in prison, five (5) years of probation, and a $5,000 fine. 

Some viable defenses to Child Abuse

Certainly, a parent (or someone standing in for the parents, such as a coach or a teacher) can exercise some discipline over a child under his or he control.  This defense is not available, however, when the discipline exceeds normal corporal punishment.  There are also cases where there is little or no physical evidence of abuse and the only "evidence" there is consists of the "self-report" of the minor child.  In those instances, a good investigator may discover  other, underlying reasons for the child's accusation― for example, parents going through a nasty divorce or custody battle and pitting the child against a parent.

This is why it's critically important to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to develop an effective defense strategy and hold the State Attorney's Office to their burden of proving the crime of child abuse beyond and to the exclusion of any reasonable doubt.  

There is hope

If you or a loved one is arrested and charged with burglary, please call our 24-hour telephone number 305-461-1066 to set up an appointment and free consultation so we can assess your particular case and provide you with the best legal advice on how to proceed.  

I want to hear your side of the story.

Rick Hermida

State and Federal Criminal Defense Attorney

55 Merrick Way ~ Suite 212

Coral Gables, Florida 33134

305-461-1116 (Office)

305-461-1066 (24 Hours)

We are solely a Criminal Defense Law Firm.  That's all we do and all we have done since 1987.

  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon